Pete Myers

Dr. Myers was a panelist for the Forum’s discussion on Hormone-Altering Chemicals.

John Peterson “Pete” Myers is founder, CEO and Chief Scientist of Environmental Health Sciences, a not-for-profit organization that promotes public understanding of advances in scientific research on links between the environment and human health ( Dr. Myers holds a doctorate in the biological sciences from the University of California, Berkeley and a BA from Reed College. For a dozen years beginning in 1990, Dr. Myers served as Director of the W. Alton Jones Foundation in Charlottesville, Virginia. Along with co-authors Dr. Theo Colborn and Dianne Dumanoski, Myers wrote “Our Stolen Future,” a book (1996) that explores the scientific basis of concern for how contamination threatens fetal development. Dr. Myers is now actively involved in primary research on the impacts of endocrine disruption on human health. He is on the management team of the Fan Initiative, and is on the boards of the Science Communication Network and the Jenifer Altman Foundation. Until its merger with Pew Charitable Trusts in 2007, he served as Board Chair of the National Environmental Trust. He has also served as Board President of the Consultative Group on Biological Diversity, an association of more than forty foundations supporting work on biodiversity, climate, energy and environmental health and board chair of the H. John Heinz Center for Science, Economics and the Environment. He is an Adjunct Professor of Chemistry at Carnegie Mellon University. Dr. Myers lectures around the world, including this TED-style talk (link: in the Abbey Road Studio of London, in June 2016. In 2016 he received a Laureate Award for Outstanding Public Service from The Endocrine Society, the world’s largest association of medical and research professionals specializing in endocrinology. In November 2016 he received along with 11 others, the first “Champion of Environmental Health Research” award from the National Institutes of Health. Other recipients included 3 current or former Directors of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.